School Zone Fines

 Speed in a Houston School Zone—Face Fines Over $275

 Tickets for Cell Phone Use in a School Zone Top $322, Allstate Ins. Survey Finds

HOUSTON, TX, August 17, 2010 – Get caught speeding in a Houston area school zone and expect to pay an average of $216, according to a new survey by Allstate Insurance.  The company recently surveyed 80 police departments and municipal courts across the state—including 14 in the Houston area—to find out the average cost of a speeding ticket in a school zone for driving 10 miles per hour over the limit. 

The survey found in the Houston area, the highest fines for school zone speeders are in Conroe ($276), Shenandoah ($272) and Houston ($250): Houston Area Cities     Average fine for speeding 10 mph over limit in school zone     
Conroe  $276   
Shenandoah      $272   
Houston         $250   
Baytown $226   
Pasadena        $225   
Sugar Land      $225   
Galveston       $222   
League City     $222   
Lake Jackson    $220   
Humble  $205   
Missouri City   $204   
La Porte        $201   
Bellaire        $200+  
Pearland        $176   
Rosenberg       $160   
Texas City      $150   

Statewide Results

According to the survey, the average fine statewide for driving 10 miles per hour over the limit is $211, with the highest fines in Huntsville ($312), College Station ($305) and Conroe ($305). On the other end of the spectrum, school zone speeders in Lufkin face fines around $150.

Allstate conducted the survey to remind drivers to slow down and pay attention in school zones, especially as many students in Texas head back to class next week.

“No matter how high or low the fines are in a city, they are in place to protect our kids and save lives,” said Dana Philibert, an Allstate agent in Pasadena. “Hopefully, any fine is enough to make drivers slow down and think.”

Cell Phone Violations in School Zones Top $327

Police are looking for more than just speeders in school zones. Drivers caught violating the year-old Texas law prohibiting cell phone use in a school zone, without a hands-free device, can end up paying as much as $327 in some cities, including Pearland, according to the survey..

The surveyed cities docking drivers the most in the Houston area for violating the cell phone-school zone law are:ouston Area Cities     Average fine for using a wireless device  in a school zone     
Pearland        $327   
Tomball            $322   
La Porte        $297   
Conroe             $276   
Houston         $260   

Three Back to School Traffic Safety Tips

1.      Drive slowly in school zones. Watch for children in the road and always obey crossing guards.

2.      Put down your phone, breakfast, make-up, etc. and focus on driving.

3.      Be alert and patient around school buses and bus stops.

Advertisements

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: